Week 8: This Noise is Shattering Me

Let me just say that what was expected of us this week made for the most unpleasant week of the semester thus far when regarding this class. All of these audio assignments that we were expected to complete for this week were just too much for me without any prior experience using the using this software and tools. I’ve worked on editing videos before, but that was back in high school for my TV and radio elective class, and and we were given tutorials and walkthroughs as to how to us everything. I am not the most technologically-inclined individual, and this served as quite the obstacle for me. An obstacle that, considering the added workload of my other class obligations, got the best of me. This was the first class assignment that I have not completed up to now. I thought that I was at a point in this class where all the content that we would have to grasp regarding how to convey writing electronically would be simple enough, but I guess I was wrong. I’m almost losing faith in myself to get a satisfactory A or B+ in this class with the way things are going.

I know that my failure to complete these audio-based assignments correctly and by the end date can be blamed on me, but the fact that we were given very little instruction regarding the tools that we would be using doesn’t really help in the proper execution of this task. I’m both relieved and saddened that there were others that experienced similar dissatisfied outcomes regarding this assignment, but that just shows that we do not possess the skills required to properly complete this like our professor might have assumed. I believe in performing at a certain standard and I admit that I did not have the proper knowledge to craft what my teacher expected of me, that is both their and my fault. All I can say is that I hope that the upcoming assignments pertaining to this class do not deviate too much from the element, otherwise prior to undertaking assignments similar to this week’s should be introduced with some instruction.

Putting aside the train wreck of an experience that was trying to accomplish these audio assignments, I have enjoyed reading these a select few entries that I have found on Young Writers Project. I feel as though some of these kids are beyond their years in terms of creativity, at a level I wish I was at earlier on in my life. It’s nice to see such a lack of restraint, no limits placed on the writing these individuals send out for the public to read. It’s nice when you stand by what you have to say and it’s well-spoken, when you open yourself to the judgmental minds of the general populace. I look forward to the later readings and challenges that come up on the site.

Anyway, i’ve recently had my ups and downs with the class thus far, but I’m hoping things will get better. That’s all I can hope for, and that’s all I can really do. Wish I had a little more tug -and-pull in that area.

2 thoughts on “Week 8: This Noise is Shattering Me”

  1. Okay, you had challenges. But what did you try? How far did you get? How did you seek help?

    You were provided: a screencast demonstration, links to resources for tutorials, and all the information you need to ask for help.

    We have no ability to mind read, you gotta reach out when you are having trouble,

    Like

  2. There are always tech challenges when it comes to making digital composition, and it can be frustrating, and the best advice is: dive in and see what works, and when it doesn’t work, try a workaround or give a shout for help.
    I’d love to hear your voice or your sounds in the NetNarr mix. I bet you can do it, and find success.
    Check out Vocaroo for the easiest online recording tool I know: http://vocaroo.com
    Here I am, talking to you: http://vocaroo.com/i/s1BG175W8HtY
    Good luck! We’re rooting for you!
    Kevin (out in the open)

    Like

Leave a Reply

