Week 10: Change and the Future

I was sad to hear that we could not as a class this past week. I really look forward to meeting with everyone and opening my mind to the numerous potential methods by which to connect and expand both my mind and the minds of others through writing on the web.

In our most recent and last bus trip video chat the discussion nice to hearing how and what people had planned for their lives in the upcoming future career-wise. Ironically enough I was a liberal arts major at UCC before I transferred to Kean. It was surprising to hear how many people were invested in getting a career in the world of business, a field where many people I personally know have abandoned for a number of reasons.  I sure hope that they know what they are getting themselves involved in. It also made me think about where I would be when I graduate, as I have been quite uncertain up to know as to what I want to do. It just feels like a grim reminder of our current  society’s expectations for us all. Sometimes I wish when I was born that I was given a set goal to work and strive and that would be what I do in the future.

In the article that we read, “Deeply Aggrieved”, I really liked the theme of the article which seemed to be how certain standards, may they be academic or otherwise, affect how people’s progress and in turn their progress in life. These lines of text, “Institutions that refuse to move—not into the future, but into the present—are enacting a masochistic nostalgia. Things are not the way they were, and to isolate our philosophies in an historic moment is to condemn their practicality. Just as perilous is to assume the academy exists in a safe vacuum, where political tensions that light the nation on fire will not penetrate the halls of ivy-grown intellectualism and rationality”, really spoke to me. It says a lot and I booth agree and disagree with what it conveys. Change is a constant thing, nothing stays the same forever, especially within the realm of advancing societies, and to deprive individuals of inventions that help us progress in our own way, in a potentially universal way, is just unjust.

I’ll be the first to support the idea that we stand still in terms of progress, because change is scary, especially when said change eventually incorporates itself into standards that spill out into society and the workplace. That change sometimes feels like an obligation as opposed to a choice. Regarding the article/post I could not agree more that it is a school’s obligation to integrate a degree of change into it’s framework regarding how things are run or how they allow their students to undertake assigned goals. I have suffered due to some of my professors refusing to accept certain present means of doing things. To be more specific I don’t particularly like every aspect of change, but when someone refuses to keep up with the more basic and widely accepted standards it infuriates me. I can understand that there are certain reservations when it comes to accepting numerous forms of technology into a classroom setting, as technology can sometimes serve as a distraction depending on how one uses it. Though when such a tool has been proven to improve upon the progress that an individual makes in an academic setting, especially when applied to an individual with a cognitive disorder, a teacher should be willing to alter upon their set standards. As much as we would like to think, we are not all born equal, and knowing this we owe it to ourselves to try and make for more equal settings in multiple sectors of society, academic especially. This teacher mentioned in the article was was preventing the child with dyslexia from making progress in their class just because they refused to change themselves by accepting the change that has been occurring within the society they are immersed in.

After watching the bus trip video and reading this blog I have been prompted to think more about what he future holds. What will become of my life? Am I operating in my best interests? How will impending change affect how we operate and see things in the days to come? So much to think about. The same applies to the upcoming days of class that we will have. What will change now that we are done with our bus trips? Hopefully I can get behind it.

Leave a Reply

